Company History

1955

The company ZHENDRE originates from the family business founded after the Second World War by Robert, Paul and Louis ZHENDRE respectively grandfather, uncle and father of the current CEO Alexandre ZHENDRE.

It is in this context that the first autonomous refrigerated container was manufactured in 1950.

In 1955, Louis ZHENDRE decides to create his own company under the name ACFT Louis ZHENDRE. The acronym ACFT which stands for “Ateliers de Constructions Frigorifiques Tropicales ” (transl. Workshops for Tropical Refrigeration Construction) marks the offset of the company’s specialisation in refrigeration equipment for hot countries, and its international orientation.

At the end of the 50s, the company takes decisive action. In the framework of oil and gas exploration in the Algerian desert, ZHENDRE participates in a famous mission known as “Berliet – Ténéré” which entails the crossing of Algeria to Chad.

The experience gained from this sub-Saharan epic will be the basis of the development of the refrigeration for extreme conditions activity.

In 1960, the company ZHENDRE moves to Villenave d’Ornon near Bordeaux, on a site with an area of ​​33,000 m2.

ZHENDRE, a family business in its third generation, which became a limited company in 1995, pursues its strategy of controlled growth, thus ensuring a prominent place worldwide in its market sector, while maintaining the flexibility and responsiveness of an SME, with up to one hundred employees.

1960

ZHENDRE moves to Villenave d’Ornon

Usine Zhendre

 

As of 1960, while continuing to equip the oil and gas camps, notably in Southern Algeria, ZHENDRE began to equip the FRENCH ARMY in refrigerated containers.

These containers have been deployed on sites as diverse as CHAD, the CENTRAL AFRICAN REPUBLIC, MAURITANIA, SENEGAL, GABON, IVORY COAST, DJIBOUTI etc…

At the same time as it strengthens its presence in the industrial refrigeration market, the company enters a new field of activity, air conditioning, which it develops under its own brand ZENITHAIR.

This activity first began in foreign markets, mainly tropical countries with demanding customers (oil companies, life base manufacturers, construction companies, etc.).

1985

In 1985, the UNITED NATIONS, with UNIFIL in Lebanon, also adopted ZHENDRE refrigerated containers to equip their Peacekeeping missions. Since then, many UN Missions use ZHENDRE refrigerated containers.

1991

It is after the Gulf war of 1991 that the French Army realised the necessity of air conditioned tents to shelter their personnel during their interventions in the field of operation where ambient temperatures could reach up to +55°C.

By combining its own experience of REFRIGERATION and AIR CONDITIONING in EXTREME CONDITIONS and that of the specialists in this domain in the French Land and Air Forces, ZHENDRE created a large range of tent air conditioners which today equip, besides the French Army, the European Corp, the NATO commandments as well as approximately fifteen other foreign armies.

The “Shelter” air conditioners, of which THALES is the principal client, complete this range of ZHENDRE military air conditioners.

A partir des années 2000

After having consolidated its development over the past 20 years due to its two flagship products: refrigerated containers and tent air conditioners, Zhendre gradually expands its range by way of containerised systems that complement its traditional offer of refrigerated containers, as well as specific air conditioners designed and manufactured according to the specifications of its customer. This new offer is part of a strategic plan named “CAP 60”, set up for the period 2014-2015, which is largely dedicated to innovation. Zhendre who will celebrate its 60th anniversary in 2015 (hence the choice of CAP 60) now has the means to fulfill its ambition to respond better and more extensively to the expectations of its clients operating mostly in Extreme Conditions. This is the meaning of the new Zhendre signature “Solutions aux Conditions Extrêmes.”

2013

ZHENDRE becomes a member of GICAT (French Land Defence Manufacturers Association).

Historique

1955

La société ZHENDRE a pour origine l’entreprise familiale fondée au lendemain de la seconde Guerre mondiale par Robert, Paul et Louis ZHENDRE, respectivement grand-père, oncle et père du Président actuel Alexandre ZHENDRE.

C’est dans ce cadre, en 1950, que le premier conteneur frigorifique autonome a été conçu.

En 1955, Louis ZHENDRE décide de créer sa propre entreprise, sous le nom d’ACFT Louis ZHENDRE. Cet acronyme ACFT, pour « Ateliers de Constructions Frigorifiques Tropicales », marque ainsi dès le départ, la spécialisation de l’entreprise dans le matériel frigorifique destiné aux pays chauds, et sa vocation internationale.

A la fin des années 50, l’entreprise s’engage dans une expérience décisive. Dans le cadre des recherches pétrolières menées dans le désert algérien, ZHENDRE participe notamment à la traversée de l’Algérie jusqu’au Tchad, la célèbre mission « Berliet-Ténéré ».

L’expérience rapportée de l’épopée sub-saharienne sera à la base du développement de sa branche froid en conditions extrêmes.

En 1960, la société ZHENDRE s’installe à Villenave d’Ornon près de Bordeaux sur un terrain d’une superficie de 33 000 m2.

Entreprise familiale de la troisième génération, devenue Société Anonyme en 1995, ZHENDRE poursuit sa stratégie d’une croissance maîtrisée, qui lui confère une place éminente au niveau mondial dans son secteur d’activité, tout en conservant la flexibilité et la réactivité d’une PME, forte d’une centaine de salariés.

1960

ZHENDRE emménage à Villenave d’Ornon

Usine Zhendre

 

A partir de 1960, tout en continuant à équiper les camps pétroliers, notamment dans le Sud Algérien, ZHENDRE a commencé à équiper l’ARMEE FRANÇAISE en conteneurs frigorifiques.

Ces conteneurs ont été déployés sur les sites les plus divers au Tchad, en République Centrafricaine, en Mauritanie, au Sénégal, au Gabon, en Côte d’Ivoire, à Djibouti etc…

En même temps qu’elle conforte sa présence dans le froid industriel, la société accède à un nouveau domaine d’activité, la climatisation, qu’elle développe sous sa propre marque ZENITHAIR.

Cette activité a tout d’abord démarré sur les marchés étrangers, essentiellement les pays tropicaux, auprès d’une clientèle exigeante (compagnies pétrolières, constructeurs de bases vie, entreprises de BTP, etc.)

1985

Les NATIONS UNIES, dès 1985 avec la FINUL au Liban, ont, elles aussi adopté les conteneurs frigorifiques ZHENDRE afin d’équiper leurs Missions de Maintien de la Paix. Depuis cette date, de nombreuses Missions de l’ONU utilisent les conteneurs frigorifiques ZHENDRE.

1991

C’est après la guerre du GOLFE de 1991 que l’Armée Française a compris la nécessité de climatiser les tentes abritant ses personnels lorsque ceux-ci intervenaient sur des théâtres d’opération où les températures ambiantes pouvaient atteindre +55°C.

En combinant sa propre expérience du FROID et de la CLIMATISATION en CONDITIONS EXTRÊMES et celles des spécialistes de ce domaine au sein de l’Armée de Terre et de l’Armée de l’Air Française, ZHENDRE a créé une large gamme de climatiseurs de tentes lesquels équipent aujourd’hui outre l’Armée Française, le Corps Européen, les Commandements de l’OTAN ainsi qu’une quinzaine d’armées étrangères.

Les climatiseurs de «shelters» complètent cette gamme des climatiseurs militaires ZHENDRE, dont THALES est le principal client.

A partir des années 2000

Après avoir assis son développement au cours des 20 dernières années grâce à ces deux produits phares, les conteneurs frigorifiques et les climatiseurs de tentes, Zhendre élargit progressivement son offre avec des systèmes conteneurisées qui complètent son offre traditionnelle de conteneurs frigorifiques, ainsi qu’avec des climatiseurs spécifiques conçus et fabriqués selon le cahier des charges de ses clients. Cette nouvelle offre s’inscrit dans le cadre de son plan stratégique « CAP 60 » construit pour la période 2014-2015 qui consacre une large part à l’innovation. Zhendre qui célèbrera en 2015 ses 60 ans (d’où le choix de CAP 60) se dote aujourd’hui des moyens de son ambition qui est de répondre mieux et plus largement aux attentes de ses clients opérant le plus souvent en Conditions Extrêmes. C’est tout le sens de la nouvelle signature de Zhendre « Solutions aux Conditions Extrêmes ».

2013

Zhendre devient membre du GICAT